Personal Finance By Ali Iveson 787 Views

Los Angeles 2028 launches Athletes' Commission including four Olympic champions


An 18-person Athletes' Commission for the Los Angeles 2028 Olympic and Paralympic Games has been launched.

Featuring nine Olympians and nine Paralympians, organisers say the body will help it to create an athlete-centred Games.

Janet Evans, a four-time Olympic gold medallist in swimming and LA28's chief athlete officer, will chair the Athletes' Commission.

Athletics legend Allyson Felix and short track speed skater Apolo Ohno are two of those on the Athletes' Commission with multiple Olympic gold medals, while Alana Nichols - who has won gold medals in both wheelchair basketball and Alpine skiing - is among the nine Paralympians involved.

Muffy Davis - and International Paralympic Committee Governing Board member - International Olympic Committee member Anita DeFrantz and four-time Olympic champion Michael Johnson have been appointed ex-officio members.

"The LA28 Athletes' Commission represents the many cultures and perspectives that make up our Los Angeles community," said Evans. 

"We're thrilled to launch our Athletes' Commission with 18 phenomenal Olympians and Paralympians who will undoubtedly broaden our understanding of how to make the LA28 Games amazing for all communities."

In additional to offering strategic advice for athlete services and experiences in advance of the Games, the Athletes' Commission will also create development opportunities to support athletes outside of their sporting careers, LA28 says.

It also expects the Athletes' Commission to engage with local and global fans in the lead-up to the event.